Charlie’s Grind and Grill

I promised an office mate I’d treat him out for lunch (specifically Fish ‘n Chips from Charlie’s) if he will be able to solve my problem with an office issue. And fix he did so out we went yesterday with other office mates.

Charlie’s is situated beside a car wash, a little obscure from view. It’s a small place, with only a few tables inside and outside. You order you food from their counter located outside of the dining area. We were lucky to get seats inside since it is a little packed. They have tissue packs on each table, much like the ones used to wipe our hands in restrooms, not the table napkins you would usually see. But that’s fine. They have LCD TVs so you wouldn’t get bored while waiting for your food. Their Philly Cheese Steak has been raved about for the longest time that we decided to give it a try.

Philly Cheese Steak, Php 360

I wasn’t disappointed. It’s really good. Two people can share this, it’s got beef strips, onions, bell peppers, and lots and lots of cheese, atop 2 toasted bread. I especially liked the serving of jalapeños, for added kick. And of course, the Fish ‘n Chips can’t be far behind.

Fish ‘n Chips, Php 220

Someone said Charlie’s is better than the one from Fish & Co. but I beg to differ. Fish & Co.’s wins by a mile. This one from Charlie’s tasted like fried flour. It lacks flavor. It’s not that bad but it’s not good either. The fries (chips) tasted starchy too. Some of us also ordered a dozen Buffalo Wings. They were okay. But they weren’t spicy enough for me.

Buffalo Wings (dozen), Php 320

Forgetting the calories I just burned the other day, I also got myself a Strawberry Milkshake. I think a third of the glass is just cream but what the heck, it’s still a really good milkshake. It even has a cherry on top. It’s really thick, and not too sweet. Just right for me. It’s a bit pricey though.

Strawberry Milkshake, Php 150

I still think Charlie’s is a place I’d revisit to try other items on the menu, like the Black Angus Beef Burger, etc. if only it’s more accessible even without a car. 😉

Leave a Reply

