Seize The Day, Go For It, and Come What May

I watched letters to Juliet last night. It got me thinking, and asking a lot of questions. First thing that came to mind was how can someone be engaged to such a lousy guy? You go on e pre-wedding honeymoon and all he can think about is where to find suppliers for wine, cheese, and whatever. He pays no attention to you at all as if your life is of no importance to him other than his own. He’s selfish. I wouldn’t want a guy like that. Yes, he may be hot and successful and all but I don’t want someone who’s physically present but mentally and emotionally absent. I don’t want someone who doesn’t want to be involved in the stuff I love to do.

 

Then the second question was how can you remember someone from 50 years ago? That’s such a long time and a lot would have changed by then. Physically anyway. Would your heart skip a beat when you see that person again? A fire in your eyes, a spark of recognition? Would there be, as they say in Filipino, “lukso ng dugo“? This was answered at the end of the movie when Claire read Sophie’s letter (as Juliet). If your love was true then, it would be true now. The heart never forgets.

 

Here is the whole of the letter:

“What” and “If” are two words as nonthreatening as words can be.

But put them together, side by side, and they have the power to haunt you for the rest of your life. What if? What if? What if?

I don’t know what a love like Juliet’s feels like, a love to leave loved ones for, a love to cross oceans for, but I’d like to believe that if I ever were to feel it, I would have the courage to seize it.

 

And Claire, if you didn’t, I only hope that one day that you will.

 

I don’t want to be like Claire who waited 50 years before finding her one true love. But I don’t have the courage to seize it. I dread the “what ifs” this cowardice will bring me but I just can’t go for it. I’m afraid. I’m afraid of rejection. I’m afraid that things will never be the same. I’m afraid of what life would be without him if ever he decides to  leave. Is it a love to leave loved ones for? I think somehow it is. Is it a love to cross oceans for? Maybe it is. Will I ever have the guts to admit my feelings while at the back of my mind thinking, come what may?

 

 

Leave a Reply

