Kanin Club

I’ve been hearing about Kanin Club for so long but couldn’t really take the time out to visit their branches at Laguna and Alabang. When they opened a store at the Ayala Triangle, I couldn’t get enough. I’ve eaten there countless times with different groups of people. They all loved it too. I am so addicted! I crave for their food almost everyday. It’s probably the best restaurant that serves Filipino food! 4 t humbs up! Yes, it’s that good! Hindi kaya may gayuma mga pagkain nila? Hehehe.

 

 

For the appetizers, I’ve tried the Crispy Liempo and Squid in Salt and Pepper. The Crispy Liempo was nothing special. They’re not oily, which is a plus. But they were makunat.

 

 

Crispy Liempo, Php 142

 

The Squid in Salt and Pepper I did like. The squid was really soft and flavored just right. The sweet chili sauce complemented it well.

 

 

Squid in Salt and Pepper, Php 224

 

As for the salads, the only one I’ve so far tasted is the Thai Green Mango Salad. It’s  got green magoes, onions, cilantro, and peanuts, with a sweet-salty dressing. It’s surprisingly good.

 

 

Thai Green Mango Salad, Php 172

The crispy dinuguan and seafood kare-kare are staple orders whenever I eat there. The crispy dinuguan tasted so good with just the right amount of sourness. I especially loved it because instead of the regular pork, they use deep fried pork cuts (read: lechon kawali). It’s more flavorful that way.

 

 

Crispy Dinuguan, Php 261

 

We also couldn’t get over how good the  seafood kare-kare was. It had prawns, squid, mussels, pechay, string beans, and eggplant. Their bagoong is good too, not very salty.

 

 

Seafood Kare-kare, Php 298

 

Their sinigang is also a winner. I like it really sour but theirs is just right. The meat was tender too.

 

 

Sinigang na Liempo, Php 366

 

One time, we were also able to order the Crispy Pork Binagoongan. I didn’t get to taste this but they said Mozu’s is still better. I noticed that they used big chunks of pork belly for this one. And it appears as if they just put the meat on top of the sauce so the flavors did not seep into the pork belly.

 

 

Crispy Pork Binagoongan, Php 231

 

I also enjoyed their Sigarilyas Express, which was Bicol Express using sigarilyas and  pork meat in gata. It could have been spicier though. I’m into spicy food and this is too mild for my taste.

 

 

Sigarilyas Express, Php 149

 

Another vegetable dish I was able to try was the Chopsuey. It was okay, but the ones from Chinese restaurants are still better.

 

 

Chopsuey, Php 261

 

We also opted to order Lemon Chicken, which was different from what we were used to but it was good, nonetheless. The sauce was not overwhelmingly sour. And it wasn’t too thick that it drowns out the chicken. I like this version better. It was indeed a surprise (as stated in their menu).

 

 

Lemon Chicken, Php 224

 

One time, on A’s birthday, we ordered pancit for long life. We chose the Pancit Lucban, which I had been craving for the longest time. However, I was a little disappointed. It did taste like the normal pancit lucban but they didn’t have vinegar, which I expected. Instead, they had calamansi. Also, it was a bit oily.

 

 

Pancit Lucban, Php 246

And now for their specialty, the kanin! So far, I have tried 4 kinds of rice from Kanin Club. One order serves around 2-3, depending on how hungry you are. Haha. First was the Aligue (crab fat) Rice. Sinful, yes. But it’s really really good! This has to be my favorite. But of course, I cannot eat this too often lest I die of a heart attack this early.

 

 

Aligue Rice, Php 149

 

Next was the Garlic Rice. Common, yes. It’s too oily though. When you get to the bottom of the bowl you can see the remaining rice swimming in oil. Yuck. But it still tastes good. Yeah, sinful is good.

 

 

Garlic Rice (equivalent to 3 cups). Php 33 per cup

 

Quite unusual was the Sinangag na Sinigang. It had crispy kangkong and pork belly on top. It’s a little wet, and there’s a distinct flavor of sinigang to it.

 

 

Sinangag na Sinigang, Php 224

 

Lastly, I was able to try their Bagoong Rice. It was topped with slivers of green mango on top. No, the rice is not too salty. It just had a hint of shrimp paste in it.

 

 

Bagoong Rice, Php 149

 

For the drinks, we also go for their bottomless iced teas. There are 2 variants, lemon and green tea. I always go for the lemon, though it actually tastes more of calamansi. Haha.

 

 

Bottomless Lemon and Green Iced Teas, Php 99 each

 

I love Kanin Club! I love Kanin Club! I love Kanin Club! I love Kanin Club! I love Kanin Club! … 😀

Leave a Reply

