10 Songs That Make Me Sad

There are a lot of songs that make me sad and there may be millions that are sadder than the ones below but these are the ten I thought of right off the bat when I typed the title of this post.  They are in no particular order too.

 

1. Pangarap Lang Kita – Parokya Ni Edgar feat. Happee Sy

“Tanggap ko, oh aking sinta. Pangarap lang kita.”

 

The song itself isn’t sad. When you listen to the song, it actually has a feel good vibe to it. But if you think about the message it is trying to convey, it hits you. I’ts about surrendering to the fact that the object of your affection will never be yours. That the one person you want to be with is out of your reach. It is the acceptance of a sad fate. It’s twice as hard when you’re a conservative girl because you want the guy to make the first move. So if he doesn’t, then he remains a dream.

 

 

2. Whatever It Takes – Lifehouse

“I’ll keep us together whatever it takes.”

 

The song makes me sad for a different reason. The first time I heard this, I was going through a rough patch with G. And the lyrics of t his song were exactly the words I wanted him to say to me. So everytime I hear this, I remember him and our failed romance.

 

 

3. Chasing Pavements – Adele

“Should I give up or should I just keep chasing pavements even if it leads nowhere?”

 

I’ve asked myself this question quite a number of times since I first heard this song. Because with my love life, it’s always the same story. I always find myself torn between moving on and holding on. And most of the time, I know there is nothing to hold on to yet there I was, still clinging to my last ray of hope.

 

 

4. Bakit Ngayon Ka Lang – Freestyle

“Bakit ngayon ka lang dumating sa buhay ko?”

 

A story along the lines of “Oh it’s sad to belong to someone else when the right one comes along…” This song is twice as sad because there was a point in time that it applied to G and I. It was our song. It used to be our song. Maybe the words don’t fit literally but still… And I hated the fact that we didn’t dance to this song during my high school graduation ball because he was nowhere to be found. What nice timing.

 

 

5. Someone Like You – Adele

“I had hoped you’d see my face and that you’d be reminded that for me it isn’t over.”

 

When the other party has moved on quite well and you are stuck where he left you. When you see him happy with someone else and you wish he could see you and realize that he is still the one you want. And you try to convince yourself that someday he will be replaced. That you will find your happy ending after all.

 

 

6. How Do You Heal A Broken Heart – Chris Walker

“How do you heal a broken heart that feels like it will never love this much again?”

 

After every failed relationship, we always feel like we’ve given everything we’ve got that we would not be able to pick up the pieces of our broken heart. We always feel that we will never love with the same intensity any other person than the one who just left.  So how do we heal, really?

 

 

7. Hanggang Ngayon – Kyla

“Ba’t hanggang ngayon ay ikaw pa rin ang mahal?”

 

Another one of those songs where you’re stranded and find it hard to move on. And you ask yourself, why you’re still in love with the same person. Why, indeed.

 

 

8. Gravity – Sara Bareilles

“Something always brings me back to you. It never takes too long.”

 

We will always go back to our one great love. At times we may feel that we have moved on and forgotten but then at the end of the day, we realize we haven’t.

 

 

9. Nothing Compares 2 U – Sinead O’Connor

“Nothing compares to you.”

 

In relation to song number 8, we cannot really forget our one great love precisely because in our eyes, he is irreplaceable. No one can really measure up.

 

 

10. When It Was Me – Paula Deanda

“What makes her so much better than me?”

 

It hurts when we lose love. And it hurts more when we see him happy with someone else, as if replacing you was that easy for him. Then you compare yourself to his current flame and reminisce your time together. And you ask yourself what happened. How can he choose her over you. How did it come to that in the first place?

One thought on “10 Songs That Make Me Sad

Leave a Reply

