Bag of Beans

The first time I was here, we ate actual meals, like porkchop with rice, pasta, and burgers. Although we heard they were actually famous for their desserts and coffee, but at that time, we just wanted a place to eat dinner. Last Wednesday, after a filling lunch at Bawai’s Vietnamese Kitchen, we decided to have dessert at Bag of Beans and some coffee to ward off the sleepiness.

From what I heard, their cheesecake is one of the best so it was our chance to sample it. E and I shared an order of Strawberry Cheesecake. And whoa, it’s a huge serving and topped with thick strawberry sauce and fruit. The cheesecake itself has got a nice consistency. It’s real thick and creamy but not too sweet nor sour. The others got the Blueberry variant.

Strawberry Cheesecake, Php 145
Blueberry Cheesecake, Php 145

For the drinks, A got the house blend Freshly Brewed Coffee. I took a sip and it’s really strong. It’s too bitter for my taste. I’m not sure though if that is the normal taste of it or A just didn’t add enough sugar. I liked their hot cups though.

House Blend Freshly Brewed Coffee, Php 95

Since it was really hot on that day, most of us opted to get cold drinks. I ordered the Iced Caramel Macchiato with high hopes. When it was brought to our table, I immediately took a sip after a few stirs. My drink was still hot and the few ice cubes in it failed to make it cold fast. The ice actually melted even before my drink got to a decent level of coldness. And I’m not so sure if its being a little bland is because it is already being countered by the sweetness of the cheesecake or if that is how it normally tastes.

Iced Caramel Macchiato, Php 110

R and E each got the Frozen Chocolate. I think they used blended ice for this. I was able to taste it and I didn’t like it all. There’s something off about the chocolate taste.

Frozen Chocolate, Php 110

R, T, and J got the Mocha Frappe. Tasted it too and also think that it lacks in taste. Again, I’m not sure if that is how it normally tastes or the cheesecake I’ve previously consumed is having that effect.

Mocha Frappe, Php 110

My point of comparison is always Starbucks and all our drinks didn’t meet the mark. They all fell short. I’d give their cheesecake a 9/10 though.

Here’s their menu, in case you want to check it out:

 

Leave a Reply

