Banana Leaf

For our usual after-grocery Sunday night dinner, we went to Banana Leaf. A suggested it, since he said it’s one of his favorites.   He said the food’s really good so he keeps coming back. I was excited since it will be my first time. I then learned that it being called Banana Leaf, you literally eat on a banana leaf. It takes the place of ceramic plates. I wonder how they make the leaves sturdy. From experience, these leaves easily rip. Good thing that didn’t happen last night, though.

We ordered Mee Goreng, a Malay fried noodle dish. I really liked this. A thought it was too salty though. But I guess that’s why I liked it in the first place.

Mee Goreng, Php 188

For our rice, I wanted to get just 2 cups of plain rice. But A wanted the Nasi Goreng and I let him order it. It came with a sunny side up fried egg on top.

Nasi Goreng, Php 188

We wanted to order Malaysian Noble Leaves with Garlic but we were informed that they already ran out. So we settled for the Stir Fried Chinese Kangkong. It was mixed with shrimp paste but it was not too salty. We both really liked it.

Stir Fried Chinese Kangkong, Php 168

For our other viand, I suggested we get the Wok Fried Squid With Basil and Chili. We rarely get to eat seafood so I wanted us to not eat meat this time. I was a little disappointed with this. The squid was cooked right but I was looking for the hot and spicy taste since it has chili. Sadly, not even a hint of it can be found. I even tried eating the chili but still, nothing.

Wok Fried Squid With Basil And Chili, Php 238

A wanted to get dessert to counter the saltiness since what he ate last was the Mee Goreng. I pointed to a picture and asked a waiter what it was. He gave a name then we said we’d order that. But then he came back to inform us that he gave us wrong information and in the process informed us that their bestseller is the Sago Pudding, seeing that we were a little undecided. So since it’s the bestseller, we ordered the Sago Pudding instead. When it was taken to our table, lo and behold, it was the picture on the menu I was pointing to. Haha. We weren’t disappointed. It really was delicious. It was like Maja Blanca, with small sago and some sweet potato bits mixed into it. We would have ordered more if we weren’t full already.

Sago Pudding, Php 80

A was right, the food’s great and I wasn’t disappointed with my first visit. I will definitely go back. I have taken note of some items I would still want to get a taste of. 🙂

Leave a Reply

