Roboto San

M came home from Malaysia for a week-long vacation and surprised us one Tuesday night. So A, knowing about M’s little secret, gathered 6 of us (only 6 of us were free for dinner on that date) for a free dinner at Roboto San at the Crossroads Building in BGC.

Roboto San @ 2/F Crossroads Building 32nd Street Bonifacio Global City

I was impressed with the interiors of the restaurant. It was funky, fun, and eye-catching. I epecially liked the pictures of robots on the backrest of the chairs.

They also had this television where they were playing Voltes V episodes. I was immediately transported back to my childhood. I loved Voltes V back in those days.

For starters, here’s the salad bar, where they have ready-made Potato Salad, Macaroni Salad, Fruit Salad, and other salad ingredients like cucumber, tomatoes, kani, bacon bits, egg, lettuce leaves, and others, including different dressings. I only tried the Potato Salad and it was delicious. I also added some bacon bits for a little salty kick. The bacon bits were no longer crunchy though so they were a little hard to chew. But then again, they still taste great.

Beside the salad bar is the Japanese area where they have Maki, Sashimi, and Sushi of all different sorts. They also had these small dishes that contained small servings of I have no idea what since I only tried one which was the Kilawin. Haha. I also loaded up on the Salmon Sashimi, which I absolutely love. Their wasabi was a little let down though. I already got a lot but it still lacked the burning nose effect. I like it when wasabi does that to me. Weird, but true.

Their grilling section had limited choices. But almost everything was tasty. They have the usual items, shrimps, salmon, beef, chicken, etc. which have different marinades like Korean, Rosemary and more. They also have these bacon wrapped quail eggs, which we loved. Their grill is not completely smokeless though. There were moments when the smoke would billow out.

They also have ready to eat food fare like Pork Tonkatsu, Shrimp Tempura, Breaded Fish Fillet, Beef and Mushroom, Vegetables, Gyoza, and others. The Shrimp Tempura was disappointing. They were overcooked, and were no longer crispy. The Gyoza were good enough. I din’t get to taste the others. But according to A, the Tonkatsu were so-so.

The Beef with Mushroom was delicious. The beef was tender enough too. The sauce for the Breaded Fish Fillet was the bomb. It had this garlic-y taste that was just right.

These containers had Yakimeshi Rice, Plain Rice, and other viands I no longer got to see. On the far left were pasta sauces, red and white both. I didn’t try the red. The carbonara was okay. I still prefer my recipe though. Haha.

They also had Miso Soup, which was too salty. And some pickled vegetables that I didn’t try. They also had Sukiyaki, which I also didn’t get to taste.

For dessert, they have brownies, tarts, revel bars, some fruits, ice cream, halo-halo, and parfaits. Because I was already full, I only got a brownie piece, a revel bar piece, and some avocado ice cream. I love the ice cream! It tasted like real avocado. It’s too bad I only got to eat a little of it. They also had another unusual ice cream flavor, Sesame. I didn’t get to taste it but I heard it was good. Well, maybe next time. 🙂

I ended dinner on a very high note because of this dessert. Well, mostly it was just the ice cream that was awesome. I love avocado. Therefore, I loved this. 😀

All in all, Roboto San had hits and misses, like most buffet restaurants out there. Its choices are limited too, unlike Yakimix or Vikings and Buffet 101. But still, we enjoyed the food. But mostly the company. I love my friends. Haha!

Another thing I can commend is that they don’t use generic plates, bowls, and saucers, they have the name of the Roboto San printed on them. The servers are dressed like astronauts, minus the head gear. They are attentive too. They will refill your water even without you asking. They also assist you in the buffet table. And they have ushers waiting on the ground floor, on the street, willing to assist you to their location in the second floor. So you feel like a VIP. Haha. But they got our headcount mixed up. They insisted there was 8 of us in the group when in fact we were only 7. I’m not sure who to blame for that. Other than that, everything went smoothly. Will I go back? I still think so.

By the way, here’s the price list for Weekday Lunch and Dinner, and also the Weekend rates and for children too. I asked my friend to take a picture of it.

One thought on “Roboto San

Leave a Reply

